Skip to content

Good Morning, Monster: From Book To Podcast

Good Morning, Monster podcast

Good Morning, Monster the limited series podcast is finally here.

This project was such a thrill to work on.

It was something so new for me, a REAL plot twist actually.

Just so fucking happy to share with you that the first few episodes are out and you can expect more every Thursday.

Good Morning, Monster by Catherine Gildiner is one of my favorite books EVER. And what perfect timing, Dr. Gildiner was just on the HIM & HER Show talking about characteristics of Narcissistic Personality Disorder and Borderline Personality Disorder, how to raise confident children and patients who deal with severe trauma.

Good Morning, Monster: From Book To Podcast

A little backstory:

When Glennon Doyle came on the podcast she told me about Good Morning, Monster. It’s a New York Times Bestseller & MY GOD it didn’t disappoint. If you only ever take one of my recommendations, let this be it. TRUST ME IT’S SO GOOD.

Anyway, in the book Catherine covers 5 cases from her 25 years of being a top psychologist. These are 5 cases that have stuck with her, people who have overcome INSANE, life-changing, childhood trauma (like molestation, narcissistic parents, death, severe abuse & more). It’s not for the light-hearted. That being said, I found it incredibly healing to read and it’s eye-opening to the fact that you really have no clue what other people have been through, or survived.

To get you super excited, here’s the captivating book description from Amazon:

In this fascinating narrative, therapist Catherine Gildiner’s presents five of what she calls her most heroic and memorable patients. Among them: a successful, first generation Chinese immigrant musician suffering sexual dysfunction; a young woman whose father abandoned her at age nine with her younger siblings in an isolated cottage in the depth of winter; and a glamorous workaholic whose narcissistic, negligent mother greeted her each morning of her childhood with “Good morning, Monster.” 

Each patient presents a mystery, one that will only be unpacked over years. They seek Gildiner’s help to overcome an immediate challenge in their lives, but discover that the source of their suffering has been long buried.

Every one of the 5 cases will be a season. As I said, season 1 has started so be sure to go listen. If you haven’t read the book yet I HIGHLY suggest reading it before listening to the series. It’s just so good. Catherine also wrote Too Close to the Falls which is another book I couldn’t put down.

Hope you love the show as much as we loved producing it.

x, lauryn

+ check out the life-changing lessons Michael & I have learned from doing over 600 podcasts.

++ stalk this post on how to spot a narcissist.


  1. After the first podcast episode, I read this book per your recommendation.. I truly wish there had been more of a warning. The stories are disturbing. ESPECIALLY the fourth one which was highly highly disturbing.. I’ve never known of such evils till I read that fourth story.. some of the details seemed so unnecessary to disclose. While yes, the book was good and thought provoking, it did not come without very heavy, sad, and sick feelings while reading.

    1. 1000%. Saying it’s one of her most favorite books she ever, ever read … did not set me up for what this book actually is. It needs a trigger warning tbh, it was so disturbing. I do not believe this is a MUST READ, by any means. I do appreciate that in this blog they have been a little more clear by naming some of the subject matter but it’s really about severe, severe SA and plenty of disturbing details. On the podcast they discussed the non SA cases and so I dumbly didn’t do any research before reading it. I thought the podcast was my research lol. Really, my bad. But I should have passed on this one and saved myself some depressive days after. All her other books recs have been pretty fire tho.

Questions, Comments, Thoughts?

Get the Skinny

Stalk Us

This is the best way to stay up to date with The Skinny Confidential. Be the first to know when episodes drop, new blog posts, and product launches.